Our life is but a shadow...

Motets of Johan, Johann Michael, Johann Christoph & Johann Ludwig Bach

Friday 21st August at 8pm – Church of Arques-la-Bataille


The motet found its apex on Lutheran ground, in the XVIIth and XVIIIth centuries. Built on a medley of ancient texts, taken from the Old Testament or from the Gospels, and modern texts, written by theologians or even by Luther himself, the motet embeds in its musical discourse the melodies of chorals known by all the worshippers which were true moments of spiritual meditation on the frailty of human life. The motet was thus particularly adapted to funeral ceremonies, which were held as much in churches as in the home of the deceased.

The programme conceived by Lionel Meunier will be the occasion to hear the most magnificent motets composed by Johann Sebastian Bach’s ancestors over the XVIIth century, beautiful pieces which have nothing to envy to those of the latter - and which could not have found a better servant than Vox Luminis, of which we know the extraordinary expressive power.


Johann Bach (1604-1673)
Unser Leben ist ein Schatten
Sei nun wieder zufrieden
Weint nicht um meinen Tod (Aria)

Johann Michael Bach (1648-1694)
Ich weiss dass mein Erlöser lebt
Herr ich warte auf dein Heil
Sei Lieber Tag wilkommen
Nun treten wir ins neue Jahr
Halt was du hast

Johan Christoph Bach(1645-1703)
Unsers Herzens Freude hat eine Ende
Der Mensh von Weibe
Lieber Herr Gott
Fürchte dich nicht

Johann Ludwig Bach (1677-1731)
Das Blut Jesus Christi
Das ist meine Freude


Vox Luminis, directed by Lionel Meunier

Zsuzsi Tòth, soprano
Barnabàs Hegy, Jan Kullmann, altos
Olivier Berten, Robert Buckland, Philippe Froeliger, tenors
Lionel Meunier, Sebastian Myrus, basses

Masato Suzuki, organ
Ricardo Rodriguez Miranda, bass viol



Drivers: Propose your free seats on www.covoiturage.fr
Passengers: Find your car drive on www.covoiturage.fr!